Vermont Cannabis License Guidelines

Vermont Marijuana Registry

Licensing and Enforcement Criteria

The Vermont Marijuana Registry is responsible for performing on-site assessments of each dispensary and may perform assessments of a dispensary without limitation for the purpose of determining compliance.

Since a small number of dispensaries can operate at a time in the state, the application process is very stringent and very specific.

Some of the documents you need to present to get a dispensary license include:

  • Proof and description of a locked and secure facility where you intend to distribute cannabis
  • Proof of security measures to prevent and deter unauthorized entrance
  • Name, date of birth, and fingerprints of the owner and financier of the dispensary
  • Procedures showing your plans for accurate record keeping
  • The address of the dispensary

Vermont Cannabis Law & Compliance

Several laws and ordinances regulate the Vermont commercial cannabis industry, as well as the many different steps in the supply chain. These laws range over dispositions for cultivators, manufacturers, distributors and retail dispensaries. The most recent news can be found on these websites:

FAQs

Can I open a dispensary that sells recreational marijuana?

Vermont law allows for anyone who is 21 or older to possess up to one ounce of cannabis. However, adults are still not allowed to buy marijuana for recreational use. The Vermont Senate has passed an act relating to the regulation of cannabis, a bill that will regulate and tax marijuana sales.

Is there a limit to the number of dispensaries allowed in the state?

The act states that only five dispensaries can have registration certificates at a given time. However, the department will issue the sixth dispensary when the number of registered patients reaches 7,000. The department will also accept applications if any of the existing dispensaries’ licenses expire or are revoked. Therefore, it is important to regularly look at the Marijuana Registry website to check whether the department is accepting new applications.

Can I open my dispensary anywhere?

No. The law prohibits marijuana dispensaries from operating within 1,000 feet of a preexisting private or public school. They also can’t operate within 1,000 feet of any child care facility.

What should I include in the Marijuana Dispensary Registration Application?

Since a small number of dispensaries can operate at a time in the state, the application process is very stringent and very specific. Some of the documents you need to present to get a dispensary license include:

  • Proof and description of a locked and secure facility where you intend to distribute cannabis
  • Proof of security measures to prevent and deter unauthorized entrance
  • Name, date of birth, and fingerprints of the owner and financier of the dispensary
  • Procedures showing your plans for accurate record keeping
  • The address of the dispensary

Are there any packaging requirements?

If you own a marijuana dispensary, you must include a label on the packaging of the marijuana you sell. Some of the information you need to mention in the label includes:

  • A statement showing Vermont does not confirm that cannabis has medical value
  • A statement showing the exact amount of THC included in the marijuana product you are selling

Are the laws similar in all Vermont cities?

No. The laws give broad discretion to municipalities to enact zoning ordinances that determine the manner of dispensary operations. The city of Killington, for instance, is looking into completely banning the opening of medical cannabis dispensaries in the city. It’s thus very imperative that you know the local laws prior to starting a cannabis business.

Copyright © 2022 Canoja Technologies |

Site by CannaPlanners