Montana Cannabis License Guidelines

Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services

Licensing and Enforcement Criteria

The Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS) is responsible for licensing medical marijuana providers and dispensaries.

The board issued a set of specific licensing criteria and requirements:

  • Name, date of birth, and street address on a form prescribed by the department;
  • Proof that the person is a Montana resident;
  • Fingerprints
  • The street address of the location at which marijuana, marijuana concentrates, or marijuana-infused products will be cultivated or manufactured;
  • A fee that doesn’t exceed the costs of required background checks and associated administrative costs of processing the license.
  • If the person to be licensed consists of more than one individual, the names of all owners must be submitted along with the fingerprints and date of birth of each.
  • Applicants must not have a felony conviction involving fraud, deceit, or embezzlement or for distribution of drugs to a minor within the past 5 years.
  • Applicants must be Montana residents for more than 1 year;
  • Applicants must be over 18 years of age.
  • Marijuana must be cultivated and manufactured in Montana until federal law allows for the interstate distribution of marijuana

Montana Cannabis Law & Compliance

Several laws and ordinances regulate the Montana commercial cannabis industry, as well as the many different steps in the supply chain. These laws range over dispositions for cultivators, manufacturers, distributors and retail dispensaries. The most recent news can be found on these websites:

FAQs

What is the process for obtaining a marijuana dispensary license in Montana?

In order to obtain a medical marijuana dispensary license in Montana, you must first successfully apply for a provider license. If you intend to manufacture and sell marijuana-infused products, you must apply for a chemical manufacturing endorsement, which is also referred to as a marijuana-infused product provider (MIPP) license.

Once you’ve obtained your provider/MIPP license, you’ll be eligible to apply for a medical marijuana dispensary business license through the DPHHS website.

What are the residency requirements for new medical marijuana providers?

Providers applying for a license before July 1, 2020, must have resided in Montana for three years, unless the provider was named by a registered cardholder by June 30, 2017.

After July 1, 2020, providers must have resided in Montana for one year before applying for a license.

What costs are associated with applying for a marijuana retail license in Montana?

The fee for a medical marijuana provider license depends on the number of registered cardholders that have listed you as their official provider:

For up to 10 cardholders, the fee is $1,000.

For 11-49 cardholders, the fee is $2,500.

For 50 or more cardholders, the fee is $5,000.

The fee for a chemical manufacturing endorsement (that is, the MIPP license) is $500; you may apply for your provider license and your MIPP at the same time.

The fee for a dispensary license is $500 — however, you may apply for one dispensary license at the same location as your provider/MIPP license at no charge.

Is there a limit to the number of licenses one person may hold?

Yes. One person may only hold one provider/MIPP license. However, you may apply for multiple dispensary licenses. The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services will have oversight and auditing powers over all of Missouri’s commercial medical marijuana operations.

Where can a marijuana dispensary be located?

Montana dispensaries may not be located within a zone of a city, town, or county where activity related to medical marijuana use is prohibited. Additionally, dispensaries may not be located within 500 feet of any church, synagogue, or other place of worship, or of a school or post-secondary school.

What are the advertising restrictions for Montana marijuana dispensaries?

Licensed providers and dispensaries are prohibited from advertising marijuana or marijuana-related products in any medium, including electronic media.

What is required of Montana marijuana providers before conducting sales to cardholders?

Before selling marijuana flower or other products, providers who hold a dispensary license must verify the validity of the customer’s registry identification card. Additionally, marijuana products must be tested by an approved laboratory or the department of agriculture to ensure product safety and consumer protection.

Montana Cannabis License Types

There are many different license types for cannabis in Montana. We are here to help you understand which one is the best for you and your business.

Dispensaries

Registered premises from which a licensed adult-use provider or adult-use marijuana-infused products provider is approved to dispense marijuana or marijuana-infused products to consumers

Testing Laboratories

To perform the testing required by the Department.

License Providers

Person licensed by the department to cultivate and process marijuana for consumers.

Marijuana-Infused Products Providers

Person licensed by the department to manufacture and provide marijuana-infused products for consumers.

Micro Tier Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 250 square feet at one registered premises.

Tier 1 Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 1,000 square feet at one registered premises. A minimum of 500 square feet must be equipped for cultivation.

Tier 2 Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 2,500 square feet at up to two registered premises. A minimum of 1,100 square feet must be equipped for cultivation.

Tier 3 Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 5,000 square feet at up to three registered premises. A minimum of 2,600 square feet must be equipped for cultivation.

Tier 4 Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 7,500 square feet at up to four registered premises. A minimum of 5,100 square feet must be equipped for cultivation.

Tier 5 Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 10,000 square feet at up to five registered premises. A minimum of 7,750 square feet must be equipped for cultivation.

Tier 6 Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 13,000 square feet at up to five registered premises. A minimum of 10,250 square feet must be equipped for cultivation.

Tier 7 Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 15,000 square feet at up to five registered premises. A minimum of 13,250 square feet must be equipped for cultivation.

Tier 8 Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 17,500 square feet at up to five registered premises. A minimum of 15,250 square feet must be equipped for cultivation.

Tier 9 Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 20,000 square feet at up to six registered premises. A minimum of 17,775 square feet must be equipped for cultivation.

Tier 10 Canopy License

It allows for a canopy of up to 30,000 square feet at up to seven registered premises. A minimum of 24,000 square feet must be equipped for cultivation.

Copyright © 2022 Canoja Technologies |

Site by CannaPlanners