Arkansas Cannabis License Guidelines

Arkansas Department of Health

License and Enforcement Criteria

The Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) oversees the agencies placed in charge of the Medical Cannabis Program.  ADH Website: Here

The Arkansas Department of Health issues medical marijuana registry cards for qualified patients and caregivers.  The Arkansas Alcohol and Beverage Control agency is responsible for the licensure of medical marijuana dispensaries.  

The Arkansas Department of Health is available to answer questions about your Arkansas Medical Marijuana ID card or about applications for a medical marijuana testing lab.

The Arkansas Department of Health is NOT able to provide information regarding:

  • physicians who provide certifications
  • your legal matters
  • your personal decisions regarding your work and or traveling with medical marijuana
  • information about other states and their medical marijuana programs
  • information about your personal health and health care decision making

The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission was created under Article §19 of the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment of 2016. The Commission is tasked with administering and regulating the issuance of licenses to operate medical marijuana dispensaries and cultivation facilities, and will work with the support of Alcoholic Beverage Control to implement and enforce the requirements of the amendment.

Membership of the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission is composed of five individuals; each serving a four-year term. Members are appointed as follows: one member is appointed by the Governor of Arkansas; two members are appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Arkansas Senate; and two members are appointed by the Speaker of the Arkansas House of Representatives.  Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission website: Here

Patient applications for a medical cannabis card may take up to 14 working days to process from the date we receive your application and payment. Incomplete applications or applications with errors will be returned.

The Fee Schedule is as follows:

Patient medical marijuana card application  $50.00 (non-refundable)
Caregiver medical marijuana card application and renewals $50.00 (non-refundable)
Caregiver criminal background  $37 (non-refundable)
Visiting Patient $50.00 (nonrefundable) 90-day card

 

A qualifying patient or designated caregiver in actual possession of a registry identification card shall not be subject to arrest, prosecution, or penalty in any manner or denied any right or privilege, including without limitation a civil penalty or disciplinary action by a business, occupational, or professional licensing board or bureau, for the medical use of marijuana in accordance with this amendment if the qualifying patient or designated caregiver possesses not more than two and one-half ounces of usable marijuana.

All cultivation facilities and any dispensary cultivating medical marijuana shall establish and maintain a written Operations Plan for the production of marijuana in the facility. The plan shall include: standard operating procedures for the cultivation of marijuana in each production area of the facility; and Information regarding chemicals and pesticides applied during the production process, including but not limited to, when and the manner in which they are applied.

Arkansas Cannabis Law and Compliance

Several laws and ordinances regulate the Arkansas commercial cannabis industry, as well as the many different steps in the supply chain. These laws range over dispositions for cultivators, manufacturers, distributors and retail dispensaries. The most recent news can be found on these links:

FAQs

What information and forms are required when a patient applies for a Medical Marijuana ID card?

The following are required when submitting your application:

  • The patient registry application form.
  • The completed Physician Written Certification.
  • Photocopy of the front of your Arkansas-issued driver’s license or state ID on a full sheet of paper.
  • The nonrefundable application fees.

I live in another state, can I apply?

To apply as a visiting out-of-state patient, you must have a medical marijuana card or equivalent from another state.  In addition, the condition(s) for which you were approved in another state must also be a condition(s) approved in Arkansas.  You can submit an online application here.  

The non-refundable application processing fee is $50.  Application processing time is up to 14 working days after you submit your application and payment.  After your application is reviewed, you will receive an e-mail alerting you to log back in and print your card.  Visiting patient cards are issued for 90 days per application.

Can I use medical marijuana anywhere in Arkansas?

No. Using medical cannabis is prohibited in a school bus, on the grounds of any preschool or primary or secondary school, in any correctional facility, in any motor vehicle, in a private residence used at any time to provide licensed childcare or other similar social service care on the premises and in any public place where an individual could reasonably be expected to be observed by others. A public place includes all parts of buildings owned in a whole or in part, or leased, by the state or local unit of government. A public place does not include a private residence unless the private residence is used to provide licensed child care, foster care, or other similar social service care on the premises. Using medical marijuana is also prohibited in a healthcare facility or any other place where smoking is prohibited by the Clean Indoor Air Act of 2006 and knowingly in close physical proximity to anyone under the age of 18.

What are the qualifying conditions to receive a medical card?

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus/ acquired immune deficiency syndrome
  • Hepatitis C
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Tourette’s syndrome
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Severe arthritis
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Peripheral neuropathy
  • Intractable pain which is pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment, or surgical measures for more than six (6) months
  • Severe nausea
  • Seizures including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms including without limitation those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
  • and any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health

Can other medical conditions be added to the list?

A petition to add a new qualifying medical condition can be submitted. Petition applications are reviewed and forwarded for a hearing.  The department shall approve or deny a petition within one hundred (120) days of submission of the petition. Click here for petition information.

Do I have to buy my marijuana from one of the dispensaries?

Yes. To be protected under the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act, your marijuana must be labeled from one of the Arkansas dispensaries.

Can I grow my own medical marijuana?

No. Qualifying registered patients and their designated caregivers cannot grow or cultivate medical marijuana. Marijuana-infused products must be purchased through the Arkansas medical marijuana dispensaries.

Arkansa Cannabis License Types

The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission is tasked with administering and regulating the issuance of licenses to operate medical marijuana dispensaries and cultivation facilities. If you are interested in receiving advanced notice of rule-making proceedings and updates on the actions of the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission, click here.

Cultivation

Cultivation facility means an entity that has been licensed by the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission; and cultivates, prepares, manufactures, processes, packages, sells to and delivers usable marijuana to a dispensary.

Dispensary

Dispensary means an entity that has been licensed by the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission pursuant to the requirements of the Amendment.

Processor

Processor means an entity that has been licensed by the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission; and may acquire, possess, manufacture, process, prepare, deliver, transport, and supply marijuana to a dispensary or cultivation facility.

Transportation

Transport means to move medical marijuana between licensed facilities or between a licensed facility and approved laboratory.

Copyright © 2023 Canoja Technologies |

Site by CannaPlanners